Join the Conversation! Visit the Really Good Teachers Forum!

Forgot Your Display Name Or Password?

X
OR
Reset Your Password Or Request Display Name

X

A Really Good Stuff® Community

Join Our 1,335 Members Engaging In 353 Posts

Home Forums Behavior Management Helping Wiggly Learners Succeed

Profile photo of Brandi Jordan

Helping Wiggly Learners Succeed

• Follow:
    Share:
to share this thread via email.
  • Profile photo of Brandi Jordan
    Brandi Jordan
    Teaching since: 1996
    Pennsylvania
  • January 20, 2017 at 10:14 am

A Really Good Teacher Needs Your Help!

Jenny from Texas wrote to ask:

“I need suggestions! My first graders are super wiggly this year! Some are diagnosed with AD/HD and others just have a bad case of the wiggles.  I’ve been teaching for five years and have a lot of tricks up my sleeve, but this year’s class has me stumped! I’d appreciate any suggestions for helping my kiddos control their wiggles! Thank you!”

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

• Classroom Teacher
    1st Grade
    Teaching since: 1982
    New Hampshire
  • January 22, 2017 at 8:36 pm

I have many active little ones this year as well so I have added lots of seating choices for wiggly students. Here is the list of the choices the children have to use to sit and do work or for a break:                           yoga ball (We use a round animal feed tub under it so it won’t roll that we got at our local Tractor Supply store.),

child size rocking chair,                        rocker seat that sits on the floor (from Walmart),          a standing table where students can choose to stand to do their work,

Disco seat (rubber with nubs and air that allows kiddos to wiggle, sits right on chair, from our occupational therapist),            a regular high bar stool,

a ‘cushy’ teacher’s chair on wheels,                            and a stationary pedaler. This last one is for a break.